October 12, 2004

Cycling legally

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:41 pm by thelawthoughts

I have a question. Are cyclists to follow the road rules, or pedestrian rules? It seems to me that cyclists are meant to follow the road rules, but correct me please if I am wrong. Therefore, it follows they must be bound to, for example, stop at red lights and stop when tram doors open to let passengers alight.

The funny thing is, I see cyclists regularly run red lights and ride past open tram doors, as I say, just for example. Apart from being dangerous, this is blatantly illegal. If I made the same error in my car, I would be subject to fines and demerit points. Why don’t I ever see bike riders getting booked for the same traffic offences?

It just seems that if, as in the City of Boroondara, we are going to give half our road space over to cyclists, why should they not be bound by the same rules that other road users are bound by?

Leave a Reply

