December 19, 2005

Knocking at the Door

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:44 am by thelawthoughts

Now that the US Department of Homeland Security is monitoring libray use, we can see the consequences.

See, for example, this piece by Anupam Chander, which relates how a university student who borrowed Mao’s ‘Little Red Book’ was visited by Federal DHS officials. The trigger, they said, was that he also had spent a lot of time abroad recently.

This stuff is just crazy. Note to any student who has been on exchange. Don’t think anymore. Don’t write any more essays. Don’t engage in criticism or conversation. The Feds will be at the door.

I hope ASIO isn’t monitoring Angus & Robertson Camberwell. I bought 1984, Machievelli’s ‘The Prince’ and Juvenals Satires the other day. I might be worth a visit, just to check I am not wearing any hippie clothes or something.

5 Comments »

  1. You might look good in a Kaftan

    1984? The Prince? The Satires? Nice book list.

    First Satire, fav quote “How could I not write Satires!?”
    I tired to buy the Koran from seek books but funnily enough it was out of stock. Also I just ordered the Strategy of Conflict by Schelling, perhaps if ASIO came to visit me they might offer me a job.

  2. Yeah, I am doing a Lit subject called Backgrounds to English Literature. The book list is Virgil (Aenied and Georgics), Juvenal, Augustine, Boethius, Satires of Horace and Persius, Myths from Mesopotamia, Metamorphoses and Oedipus.

    I think more than anything else I did the subject to get me off my bum and read the ones I haven’t already.

    Dad kindly said he would buy this lot, so I told him I was going to put about $100 on his credit card. A&R had none of my books, so I kind of spent 100 on books I have always wanted to read. I had to go back later and buy the ones I actually needed, so I have a foot high stack of classics to read in the holidays.

    And my Amazon wishlist has grown to something like 850 books. I don’t know how that happened.

  3. By the way Dash, check out http://www.librarything.com if you are a catalogy kind of person (I am)!

    Hours of fun.

  4. If you want a good selection of books for cheap go to http://www.seekbooks.com.au

    Very good selection, cheap shipping (uber important).

    I’ve tried to make a journey into eastern classics. Bought the Bhagiva-Ghitta, The Tao Te Ching and The Analects.

    Looking at my seek account I’ve bought about a grand or so worth of books over the past year. Guess that shows I don’t have a girl-friend.

  5. The Economics of Life: From Baseball to Affirmative Action to Immigration, How Real-World Issues Affect Our Everyday Life

    Get this book off your wish list and into your head!!! Trust me.

    Or read The Undercover Economist by Tim Hartford


Leave a Reply

